Batu Caves

When I caught up with my friend on the first night I was in Kuala Lumpur, she told me that I had to try and convince my family to go see the Batu Caves with me – a network of caves with Hindu temples inside located just a short drive outside of the city.  What she forgot to tell me was that the Thaipusam Festival was fast approaching and in the days leading up to the Festival, many Hindus from around the world make the pilgrimage to Batu Caves.

The caves were a very vibrant and busy place to be when we went (three days leading up to the festival) to check it all out.  Despite the absence of the local monkeys, the increased rubbish around, and the crowds of people, it was such a privilege to witness the Batu Caves play host to the very people they were built for.  The place really came alive and I’m not sure I would have enjoyed the visit as much as I did.

This entry was written by miss andy and published on January 24, 2013 at 11:44 am. It’s filed under Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

